About Us

image description  

Epicentre Research Center in Uganda

At the heart of Mbarara University of Sciences and Technology (MUST) and Mbarara Regional Reference Hospital (MRRH), Epicentre has been conducting clinical research work for more than 20 years 

Research

Epicentre’s Uganda Research Centre conducts research activities on public health issues relevant to Uganda in particular and Africa in general. Studies are conducted according to GCPs (Good Clinical Practices) and GCLPs (Good Clinical Laboratory Practices) quality standards. Studies are conducted in close collaboration with the MUST, MRRH and other stakeholders in the health sector (Ministry of Health, national programs, MSF, NGOs, universities).
 
The centre has an experienced team of doctors, nurses, statisticians, biologists, laboratory technicians, logisticians, and administrators who ensure the quality of the research. 
Epicentre contributed to seminal Aquamat trial demonstrating that artesunate substantially reduces mortality in African children with severe malaria. Current projects continue to focus on tuberculosis, HIV, central nervous system infections, and yellow fever.

Laboratory

Epicentre Uganda benefits from a laboratory with a biosafety level 3. The laboratory is equipped to do mycobacteriology, perform GeneXpert TB tests, PCR, and routine laboratory analyses. 

Education

Taking advantage of its position at the heart of the Mbarara campus the centre is also actively engaged in teaching at the MUST Faculty of Medicine. Research Centre staff contributes modules to bachelors and masters course in microbiology, molecular biology, and medical laboratory sciences. Laboratory Science students have the opportunity to gain valuable experience in Research Centre’s laboratory. 

Examples of ongoing activities

Co-infection with HIV and Tuberculosis 

A number of studies are conducted in Mbarara to improve the diagnosis and treatment regimens of children and adults with tuberculosis that are often associated with HIV infections. Early diagnosis is important to improve treatment outcome, and adherence to tuberculosis treatment is often difficult due to the length of the standard treatment; typically 6 months. Current studies investigate if it is safe to increase the dose of rifampicin and shorten the duration of treatment. Another study investigates treatment outcomes in patients with a very low CD4 counts, comparing those who are treated immediately for possible opportunistic infections such as tuberculosis versus those whose treatment is only started once such infections have been confirmed.

Yellow-Fever 

Recent outbreaks of yellow fever have highlighted that vaccine stockpiles may not be sufficient to respond to epidemics. There is evidence to suggest that a fractional dose of yellow-Fever (1/5th) may provide sufficient protection and would allow many more people to be protected against infection in situations where vaccine stocks are limited. The study aims to collect data to test this hypothesis.
 

Download the brochure (PDF file)                                                                 Contact in Uganda

Video presenting Uganda Research Center activities

Qui sommes-nous ?

image description  

Centre de Recherche Ouganda

Au cœur du Centre Hospitalo-universitaire constitué par la Mbarara University of Sciences and Technology (MUST), le centre de recherche Epicentre conduit depuis 1998, année de sa création, des activités de recherche clinique.

Recherche

Epicentre mène des activités de recherche sur des questions de santé publique pertinentes pour l’Ouganda en particulier et pour l’Afrique en général. Les études sont menées selon les normes de qualité de GCP (bonnes pratiques cliniques) et GCLP (bonnes pratiques cliniques de laboratoire). Des études sont menées en étroite collaboration avec la MUST, le Mbarara Regional Referral Hospital (MRRH) et d'autres parties prenantes du secteur de la santé (Ministère de la Santé, programmes nationaux, MSF, ONG, universités).
 
Le centre dispose d'une équipe expérimentée de médecins, d'infirmières, de statisticiens, de biologistes, de techniciens de laboratoire, de logisticiens et d'administrateurs qui assurent la qualité de la recherche.
 
Epicentre a contribué à l'essai Aquamat démontrant que l'artésunate réduit considérablement la mortalité chez les enfants africains soufrant de paludisme grave. Les projets actuels se concentrent sur la tuberculose, le VIH et la fièvre jaune.

Laboratoire

Epicentre bénéficie d'un laboratoire du niveau de biosécurité 3. Le laboratoire est équipé pour la mycobactériologie, le diagnostic de la tuberculose par GeneXpert, la PCR et les analyses de laboratoire de routine.

Formation 

Profitant de sa position au cœur du campus de la MUST, le centre est également engagé activement dans l'enseignement à la Faculté de Médecine. Le personnel du centre de recherche enseigne des modules dans le cadre de Master  en microbiologie et biologie moléculaire et sciences du laboratoire médical. Les étudiants ont également la possibilité d'acquérir une expérience précieuse dans le laboratoire du centre de recherche.

Exemples  des activités en cours

Co-infection VIH et de la tuberculose

Plusieurs études sont menées à Mbarara pour améliorer le diagnostic et le traitement des enfants et des adultes atteints par la tuberculose, souvent associée à une infection par le VIH.  La bonne adhérence au traitement est difficile à maintenir en raison de la longue durée du traitement standard, typiquement de 6 mois. Les études actuelles étudient l’innocuité d’une dose de rifampicine augmentée tout en raccourcissant la durée de ce traitement. Une autre étude explore les résultats du traitement chez les patients dont le taux de CD4 est très faible, en comparant ceux qui sont traités immédiatement pour des infections opportunistes telles que la tuberculose par rapport à ceux dont le traitement ne commence que lorsque ces infections ont été confirmées.

La fièvre jaune 

Des épidémies récentes de fièvre jaune ont souligné que les stocks de vaccins peuvent ne pas suffire pour répondre aux épidémies. Des données existantes indiquent qu'une dose fractionnée de fièvre jaune (1/5 ème) pourrait offrir une protection suffisante et permettrait à beaucoup plus de personnes d'être protégées contre l'infection dans les situations où les stocks de vaccins sont limités. L'étude vise à recueillir des données pour tester cette hypothèse.
 

 

Télécharger la brochure (fichier PDF)                                     Contact Ouganda

Video de présentation de l'activité du Centre de Recherche en Ouganda